DUSHANBE, May 27, 2016, Asia-Plus – The first General Assembly of the Central Asian Zone of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) has taken place in the Kazakh capital, Astana.

According to Tajikistan’s National Olympic Committee (NOC), the meeting participants included representatives of NOCs of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Afghanistan and Iran as well as Kazakh Minister of Culture and Sports Arystanbek Muhamediuly and representatives of OCA.

Tajikistan was reportedly represented by Bahrullo Rajabaliyev, Secretary-General of Tajikistan’s NOC.

The meeting participants discussed activities of NOCs of Central Asian nations and joint use of Kazakhstan’s centers for winter sports.

The meeting reportedly resulted in signing of memoranda of understanding on cooperation between Kazakhstan’s NOC and NOCs of Central Asian’s nations.  

Central Asia is one of the 5 different zones of the Asian Continent (East, South East, South, Central and West Asia).

The Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) is a governing body of sports in Asia, currently with 45 National Olympic Committee.  The oldest NOC is from Japan and the Philippines, recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 1911; whereas East Timor is the newest, joining in 2003.  The headquarters of OCA are located at Kuwait City.