DUSHANBE, April 6, 2012, Asia-Plus -- President Emomali Rahmon has sent a telegram of congratulations to Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu''adzam Shah ibni Sultan Badlishah, the 14th and current Yang di-Pertuan Agong (head of state) of Malaysia on the occasion of the 20 the anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Tajikistan and Malaysia, according to the presidential press service.

In his message of congratulations, President Rahmon, in particular, expressed confidence that bilateral mutually beneficial cooperation between the two countries would expand in the future as well, the source said.

Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy in Southeast Asia.  A founding member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), the country participates in many international organisations such as the United Nations, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the Developing 8 Countries, and the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM). It has chaired ASEAN, the OIC, and the NAM in the past.  A former British colony, it is also a member of the Commonwealth of Nations.  Kuala Lumpur was the site of the first East Asia Summit in 2005.

Malaysia is a relatively open state-oriented and newly industrialized market economy.  The state plays a significant but declining role in guiding economic activity through macroeconomic plans.  Malaysia has had one of the best economic records in Asia, with GDP growing an average 6.5 per cent annually from 1957 to 2005.  In 2010 the GDP (PPP) was $414,400 billion, the 3rd largest economy in ASEAN and 29th largest in the world.

Born on November 28, 1927, Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu''adzam Shah ibni Sultan Badlishah is the 14th and current Yang di-Pertuan Agong (head of state) of Malaysia, as well as the 27th and current Sultan of Kedah.  He previously served as the fifth Yang di-Pertuan Agong from 1970 to 1975.  He is the first person to hold the position twice, as well as the oldest elected to the office.

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong is the head of state of Malaysia.  The office was established in 1957 when the Federation of Malaya (now Malaysia) gained independence.

A literal English translation of the title is “He who is made Lord.”  However, common alternatives are “King,” “Supreme Ruler,” “Paramount Ruler,” “Supreme Head of State.”  Malaysia is a constitutional monarchy with an elected monarch as head of state. The Yang di-Pertuan Agong is one of the few elected monarchs in the world.