Tajikistan President Emomali Rahmon left for Moscow this morning where he is scheduled to take part in the jubilee summit of heads of CSTO member states and informal summit of heads of CIS member states.

Tajik President is accompanied by President’s Adviser for Foreign Policy Erkin Rahmatulloev, Tajik Foreign Minister Hamrokhon Zarifi, Tajik Defense Minister Sherali Hairulloev, Secretary of Tajikistan’s Security Council Abdurahim Kaharov and other officials, Tajik President’s press service told AP.

The jubilee session of CSTO’s Collective Security Council is dedicated to the 20 th  anniversary of signing of the Collective Security Treaty and 10 th  anniversary of CSTO.

CST session is expected to focus on global and regional threats and collective security efforts, CSTO’s press service reports.

Heads of CSTO member states will summarize the results of CSTO activity for 2002-2012 and will discuss priority directions of the organization’s further development. CSTO Secretary General Nikolai Bordyuzha is scheduled to report to the session.

The Collective Security Treaty was signed on May 15, 1992, in Tashkent. On May 14, 2002, the Collective Security Council gathered in Moscow and decided to reorganize mechanisms and structures of cooperation between CST member states into international organization – the Collective Security Treaty Organization. The organization’s Charter entered into force on September 18, 2003.

CSTO member states are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Kazakhstan chairs the organization in 2012.