DUSHANBE, June 11, 2012, Asia-Plus  -- Bakhtiyor Khudoyorov, head of President’s Executive Office, has been elected a member of the Majlisi Milli (Tajikistan’s upper chamber of parliament), an official source at the Central Commission for Elections and Referenda (CCER) told Asia-Plus today.

Khudoyorov reportedly replaced Nouriddin Saidov, who was appointed Minister of Education in early January this year.

The Majlisi Milli (National Assembly) is the upper chamber with 33 members; 25 elected for a five year term by deputies of local councils of the Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region, regions and their towns and districts, Dushanbe city and its districts, towns and districts subordinate to the center and 8 members appointed by the president.

The Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region, regions, Dushanbe City, towns and districts subordinate to the center have an equal number of representatives in the Majlisi Milli.

Each former President of the Republic of Tajikistan shall be the life member of the Majlisi Milli, if he doesn’t refuse to use this right.  Former Tajik President Qahhor Mahkamov is member of the Majlisi Milli.

The current Chairman of the Majlisi Milli is Mahmadsaid Ubaidulloyev from April 17, 2000.

The bicameral legislature was introduced in the September 1999 constitution.  Prior to that Tajikistan had a unicameral legislature.