DUSHANBE, July 3, 2012, Asia-Plus  -- On Monday July 2, Tajik Foreign Minister Hamrokhon Zarifi met here with Indian External Affairs Minister S. M. Krishna.

According to the Tajik MFA information department, the sides discussed a broad range of issues related to state and prospects of further expansion of bilateral cooperation between Tajikistan and India as well as regional and international issues being of mutual interest.

The two, in particular, exchanged views on cooperation between their countries in sectors like education, culture, transport, tourism, energy, and information and communications technologies (ICTs).  Tajik foreign minister reportedly noted that there was considerable room for expansion of economic ties.

They also discussed the current situation in Afghanistan and issues related to the fight against terrorism, extremism and drug trafficking.

Indian minister is expected to be received by President Emomali Rahmon today.  Meanwhile, a well-informed source in the Tajik government says President Rahmon will pay an official visit to India in September this year.

Indian External Affairs Minister S. M. Krishna arrived in Tajikistan yesterday for a two-day working visit.

Somanahalli Mallaiah Krishna, generally referred to as S. M. Krishna, is an Indian politician who has served in the government of India as Minister of External Affairs since 2009.  A member of the Indian Parliament from Karnataka in the Rajya Sabha, Krishna was the Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1999 to 2004 and Governor of Maharashtra from 2004 to 2008.

The External Affairs Minister or the Indian Foreign Minister is a position of office at cabinet level within the Government of India.  The chief responsibility of the External Affairs Minister is to represent India and its government in the international community.  The minister heads the “Ministry of External Affairs.”  Occasionally, a junior minister designated to the post of Minister of State for External Affairs assists the External Affairs Minister.  In some cases, there have been Deputy External Affairs Ministers at a secondary level.