Tajikistan nominates as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council. This was stated by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic Sirojiddin Muhriddin, speaking at political discussions within the framework of the 77th session of the UN General Assembly.

«Tajikistan is running for the first time as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council, hoping to take the seat in 2028», - Muhriddin said.

According to him, small states should be more likely to contribute to the support of peace and security. At the same time, the diplomat noted the long-term contribution and participation of the republic in the activities of the UN and the presence of a unique peacekeeping experience.

Sirojiddin Muhriddin expressed hope that the initiative will be supported by all member states of the association.

Permanent members of the UN Security Council are Russia, China, Great Britain, USA and France. The non-permanent members, elected for a two-year term, are ten countries: Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, UAE.

A state that is a member of the UN but is not a member of the Security Council of the Organization may participate, without the right to vote, in discussions when the Council considers that the issue under consideration affects the interests of that state.