On Monday October 17, Tajik Foreign Minister Sirojiddin Muhriddin met here with the EU Special Representative for Central Asia Ms. Terhi Hakala.

According to the Tajik MFA information department, the parties discussed state and prospects for further expansion of bilateral cooperation between Tajikistan and the European Union.

Mr. Muhriddin and Ms. Hakala reportedly also exchanged views on a number of international and regional issues being of mutual interest.

Ms. Terhi Hakala arrived in Dushanbe to participate in the International High-Level Conference on “International and Regional Border Security and Management Cooperation to Counter Terrorism and Prevent the Movement of Terrorists.”

The EU Special Representatives (EUSRs) promote the EU's policies and interests in specific regions and countries and play an active role in efforts to consolidate peace, stability and the rule of law. They support the work of the EU High Representative/Vice President (HR/VP) in the regions concerned.  Currently, nine EUSRs support the work of the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell.

The EU and the five Central Asian nations – Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan - celebrated the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations in 2021.  EU engagement with the region has significantly expanded since the early 1990s. The EU – Central Asia Strategy “The EU and Central Asia: New Opportunities for a Stronger Partnership" adopted in 2019 offers an enhanced policy framework for EU engagement with the countries of Central Asia over the years to come.  It focuses on promoting resilience, prosperity, and regional cooperation in Central Asia and complements Enhanced Partnership and Cooperation Agreements.  Assistance provided by the European Commission combined with assistance provided by EU Member States individually makes the European Union the number one provider of development assistance in the region.