20 of 63 current members of the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’ lower chamber of parliament) want to become parliamentarians again. Meanwhile, the speaker and his three deputies have not been nominated for the Majlisi Namoyandagon of new convocation. 

The following current members of the Majlisi Namoyandagon have nee nominated for parliament again: Tolibkhon Azimzoda (People’s Democratic Party – PDPT), Mirzoanvar Ahmadov (Agrarian Party of Tajikistan -- APT), Gulbahor Ashourova (PDPT), Mahmadali Vatanzoda (PDPT), Abduhalim Ghafforov (Socialist Party of Tajikistan - SPT), Saidjaffar Usmonzoda (Democratic Party of Tajikistan -- DPT),  Mavlouda Mirzoyeva (PDPT), Rustam Qudratov (Party of Economic Reforms of Tajikistan -- PERT), Rustam Latifzoda (APT), Dilrabo Mansouri (PDPT), Jamshed Murtazoqulov (PDPT), Hayot Odinayev (PDPT), Ravshan Rajabzoda (PDPT), Bakhtovar Safarzoda (PDPT), Zainiddin Safarov (APT), Nasiba Sodiqi (PDPT), Gulbahor Tursunova (PDPT), Abdurahim Kholiqzoda (PDPT), Hokimjon Kholiqov (PDPT), and Mavzouna Sharofiddinova (PDPT). 

Meanwhile, Majlisi Namoyandagon Speaker Shukurjon Zuhurov and his three deputies – Abdujabbor Azimi, Khairinisso Yusufi and Akramsho Felaliyev -- have not been nominated for the Majlisi Namoyandagon of new convocation.  

Members of the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower chamber of parliament) are directly elected for a five-year term according to a mixed majoritarian-proportional system. Of the 63 MPs, 41 are elected from single-mandate districts, with the winning candidate requiring a majority of votes cast. If no candidate receives a majority, a second round is held within two weeks between the two leading candidates.  More than 50 per cent of registered voters must participate for the election to be valid; otherwise, repeat elections must be held. 

The other 22 MPs are elected from a single nationwide district under a proportional, closed-list system with a five percent threshold.

Candidates could be nominated by a political party on its nationwide list and/or in a single-mandate district.  Candidates are required to submit a financial deposit of 4,000 somoni.  

Self-nominated candidates could only stand in single-mandate districts. They had to fulfill the same requirements as party-nominated candidates and submit at least 500 signatures of voters resident in that district. 

Every Tajik citizen who is at least 18 on election day is entitled to vote, unless serving a term in prison or having been declared incapable by court decision.

Every Tajik citizen, at least aged 25 and eligible to vote, may stand as candidate for deputy of the Majlisi Namoyandagon if he/she knows the state language, has been citizen of the country for a minimum of ten years and has a higher education.

Recall, parliamentary elections will take place in Tajikistan on March 1, 2020.