Communist Party (CPT) leader Miroj Abdulloyev, who is the eldest member of the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower chamber of parliament), will open the first session of the Majlisi Namoyandagon that will take place on March 17.  Abulloyev was born on August 15, 1948.  

Abdulloyev will conduct the session until the chairperson of the Majlisi Namoyandagon is elected.

During the first session, the chairperson of the Majlisi Namoyandagon, deputy chairpersons and heads of the Majlisi Namoyandagon permanent committees and commissions will be elected.

Recall, Abdulloyev has won the parliamentary elections in the Muminobod single-mandate constituency No 38.  Five candidates, including three members of the ruling People’s Democratic Party, reportedly competed for a seat in the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower chamber of parliament).  Miroj Abdulloyev reportedly won with 65 percent of votes.  

The parliamentary elections were held on March 1 and the voter turnout was reportedly more than 86 percent.

The ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDPT) won parliamentary elections.  50.4 percent of the ballots cast supported the ruling People's Democratic Party, securing 47 seats in the 63-seat Majlisi Namoyandagon.  

The Agrarian Party (APT), the Party of Economic Reforms (PER), the Socialist Party (SPT) and the Democratic Party (DPT) also won seats in the lower house of parliament.

The Agrarian Party secured 7 seats, the Party of Economic Reforms won five, and the Communist Party got two seats in the Majlisi Namoyandagon.

The Democratic Party and the Socialist Party got one seat each by the party lists.    

The Social-Democratic Party (SDPT) was unable to pass the 5 percent minimum barrier to get a seat in the legislature.  The party has blamed it on Tajik authorities’ failure to hold free and fair elections.