Dushanbe has elected persons to represent it in Tajikistan’s upper chamber (Majlisi Milli) of parliament (Majlisi Oli).

A joint meeting of members of legislatures of Dushanbe and its four districts to elect five persons to represent the Tajik capital in the Majlisi Milli took place on March 27.

Dushanbe Mayor Rustam Emomali, Tajik Technical University Rector Ilhom Amonzoda, Tajik Medical University Mahmadsho Gulzoda, Dean of the Faculty of Law of Tajik National University Dilshod Rahmonzoda and Chairwoman of the Education Department in Dushanbe’s Ismoili Somoni District Lola Odilbekova were elected to represent Dushanbe in the Majlisi Milli.    

Majlisi Oli (the Supreme Assembly) is a bicameral parliament of Tajikistan. 

Majlisi Milli (the National Assembly) is the upper chamber of Tajikistan's parliament.  It has 33 members: 25 elected for a five-year term by deputies of local councils (majlis) and eight appointed by the president.  By right, former presidents are members for life.

Three-fourths of the total number of members of the Majlisi Milli shall be elected at joint meetings of people’s deputies of the Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region (GBAO) and its towns and districts, regions and their towns and districts, Dushanbe city and its districts, towns and districts subordinate to the center, on the basis of indirect elections by means of secret ballot.  The Gorno Badakhshan Autonomous Region, regions, Dushanbe City, towns and districts subordinate to the center have an equal number of representatives in the Majlisi Milli.

One-fourths of the members of the Majlisi Milli shall be appointed by the President of the republic of Tajikistan.

Each former President of the Republic of Tajikistan shall be the life member of the Majlisi Milli, if he doesn’t refuse to use this right.

The Majlisi Milli shall function on a convocation basis.

Citizens who reached 3o years of age and have higher education shall be eligible to be elected to the Majlisi Milli.

The numbers of the members of the Majlisi Milli, the procedure for elections of them shall be determined by a constitutional law.

Recall, GBAO governor Yodgor Faizov, Khatlon governor Qurbon Hakimzoda and Sughd governor Rajabboy Ahmadzoda have also been nominated to run for the Majlisi Milli.