His candidacy, according to preliminary data, was supported by more than 90% of voters.

According to preliminary data from the Central Election Commission of Tajikistan, the current President of the country, Emomali Rahmon, won the presidential elections.

«Rahmon received support from 90.92% of the total number of voters in the elections», - said the chairman of the Central Commission for Elections and Referendums of the Republic, Bakhtiyor Khudoyorzoda. The CEC must announce the final results within 10 days from the election day.

Thus, the president, who has ruled the country since 1992, is re-elected for the fifth time.

In addition to Rakhmon, the leaders of the Communist Party Miroj Abdulloev, who were supported by 1.17%, took part in the elections, the Socialist Party Abdukhalim Gafforzoda with 1.49%, the Agrarian Party Rustam Latifzoda, who received 3.03%, and the Party of Economic Reforms Rustam Rakhmatzoda, who was voted out for 2. 15% of voters.

According to preliminary data, 4.2 million people took part in the elections, the turnout was 85.3%.

Observers from the CIS, SCO, CSTO, OSCE, State Duma and Federation Council followed the elections. No violations were recorded.

Meanwhile, by the end of October, the government of Tajikistan with its full complement will resign. The current government of the country in full force will lay down its powers before the newly elected president of the republic, in accordance with the norms of the constitutional law of Tajikistan "On government".

The government of Tajikistan consists of the Prime Minister, his first deputy and deputies, ministers, chairmen of state committees.

In Tajikistan, the president is also the head of government.