Tajik President Emomali Rahmon, who is also Head of the Government, yesterday signed decrees on replacement of a number of ambassadors and deputy foreign ministers, according to the Tajik president’s official website.

By president’s decree Imomuddin Sattorov was relieved of his post of Tajikistan’s Ambassador to Russia and Armenia (with residence in Moscow) in connection with transfer to other job.

By another president’s decree Davlatshoh Gulmahmadov, who had previously served as Deputy Prime Minister of Tajikistan, was appointed Tajikistan’s Ambassador to Russia and Armenia (with residence in Moscow).

Besides, Faizullo Kholboboyev was relieved of his post of Tajikistan’s Ambassador to Moldova.

Tajikistan’s Ambassador to Ukraine Davlatali Nazrizoda was appointed non-resident Ambassador of Tajikistan to Moldova     

By president’s decree Khusrav Noziri was relieved of his post First Deputy Foreign Minister of Tajikistan.

In agreement with the President of Tajikistan and by decision of the Council of Foreign ministers of the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) member nations Khusrav Noziri was elected and appointed the SCO Secretary-General.

Khusrav Noziri (born in 1967) has been in diplomatic service since 2001.

He had served as First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Tajikistan since April 10, 2019.  Prior to this, he served as Tajikistan’s Ambassador to Egypt, Ethiopia, South Africa and Algeria (with residence in Cairo) from May 15, 214 to April 10, 2019.  From August 2013 to May 214, Khusrav Noziri headed the MFA Directorate for Asia and Africa.  From February to August 2013, Khusrav Noziri headed the MFA Directorate for International Organizations.  From October 2009 to January 2013, he served as Adviser to the Permanent Representative of Tajikistan to the United Nations.  From February 2008 to October 2009, he headed the MFA Directorate for Europe and America.  

The Secretary General of the ECO is elected and appointed by the Council of Ministers from among the candidates nominated by the Member States on the basis of qualifications, experience and suitability as laid down in the Staff Regulations of the ECO Secretariat. As the Chief Administrative Officer of the Organization, Secretary General is responsible for all activities of the Organization. The Secretary General is discharging his duties over a non-renewable three-year terms of office.

Founded in 1985 in Tehran by the leaders of Iran, Pakistan, and Turkey, the Economic Cooperation Organization or ECO is an Asian political and economic intergovernmental organization, which provides a platform to discuss ways to improve development and promote trade and investment opportunities.  Tajikistan joined the Economic Cooperation Organization in 1992.  The ECO is an ad hoc organization under the United Nations Charter.  The objective is to establish a single market for goods and services, much like the European Union.  The ECO's secretariat and cultural department are located in Iran, its economic bureau is in Turkey and its scientific bureau is situated in Pakistan.

The nature of the ECO is that it consists of predominantly Muslim-majority states as it is a trade bloc for the Central Asian states connected to the Mediterranean through Turkey, to the Persian Gulf via Iran, and to the Arabian Sea via Pakistan.  The current framework of the ECO expresses itself mostly in the form of bilateral agreements and arbitration mechanisms between individual and fully sovereign member states.

The Organization has ten full members, including Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. 

ECO observers include Northern Cyprus; Organization of Islamic Cooperation, Turkic Council, and Energy Charter.