A joint military drill of peacekeeping forces of six member nations of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), dubbed Unbreakable Brotherhood 2019, will take place in Tajikistan from October 21 to October 23, according to the press center of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation.  

Military contingents of Tajikistan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan will participate in the military exercises that will take place at the Harb-Maidon training ground in Tajikistan’s Khatlon province.

Combat planes and helicopters of the Russian Central Military District have already been deployed to Tajikistan for participation in the drill.    

The final phase of the maneuvers, involving more than 2,000 servicemen along with armored vehicles, artillery, and ground-support aircraft, will take on October 23, featuring live-fire missions with ground-attack aircraft and combat helicopters.

The regional security organization was initially set up in 1992 in a meeting in Tashkent and Uzbekistan once already suspended its membership in 1999.  However, Tashkent returned to the CSTO again in 2006 The regional security organization was initially formed in 1992 for a five-year period by the members of the CIS Collective Security Treaty (CST) -- Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, which were joined by Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Belarus the following year.  A 1994 treaty reaffirmed the desire of all participating states to abstain from the use or threat of force, and prevented signatories from joining any “other military alliances or other groups of states” directed against members states.  The CST was then extended for another five-year term in April 1999, and was signed by the presidents of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan.  In October 2002, the group was renamed as the CSTO.  Uzbekistan that suspended its membership in 1999 returned to the CSTO again in 2006 after it came under international criticism for its brutal crackdown of antigovernment demonstrations in the eastern city of Andijon in May 2005.  On June 28, 2012, Uzbekistan announced that it has suspended its membership of the CSTO, saying the organization ignores Uzbekistan and does not consider its views.  The CSTO is currently an observer organization at the United Nations General Assembly.

On October 6, 2007, CSTO members agreed to a major expansion of the organization that would create a CSTO peacekeeping force that could deploy under a U.N. mandate or without one in its member states.

On December 10, 2010, the member states approved a declaration establishing a CSTO peacekeeping force and a declaration of the CSTO member states, in addition to signing a package of joint documents.