Movement across the Kyrgyz-Tajik border has been temporarily restricted.

Kyrgyz media reports say the Government of Kyrgyzstan has introduced a time limit on passage via two border crossing points (BCPs) along Kyrgyzstan’s common border with Tajikistan.

According to AKIPress, by Kyrgyz government’s order issued on May 20 passage via the Kulundu and Kairagach BCPs has been temporarily restricted for people, commodities vehicles and animals.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kyrgyzstan was ordered to notify the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Tajikistan and other nations, whose interests may be affected, of the measured envisaged.  

Meanwhile Tajik Foreign Ministry says they have not received such a notification.

Asia-Plus has failed to get in touch with the State Committee for Nationals Security (SCNS) of Tajikistan.