A meeting of the Council of Defense Ministers of the Collective Security Treaty (CSTO) member nations is taking place tomorrow, March 24 under the chairmanship of the Minister of Defense of Armenia Suren Papikian.

According to the CSTO’s official website, the meeting that will be held via videoconferencing is scheduled to be attended by the heads of the defense ministries of Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, the Russian Federation, Tajikistan, the CSTO Secretary General Stanislav Zas and the Head of the CSTO Joint Staff, Colonel-General Anatoly Sidorov

The meeting participants will discuss challenges and threats to military security in the CSTO area of responsibility (AoR), the CSTO’s official website says.  

The meeting participants are expected to discuss the Plan of joint training of command bodies and formations of the CSTO forces and means of collective security for 2023, draft decisions of statutory bodies on the joint formation of radiation, chemical and biological protection and medical support of the CSTO.

They will also discuss documents related to improving the management of the CSTO Troops (Collective Forces) and draft decisions of the CMD on the basic research organization of the CSTO member nations in the field of research problems of development of electronic warfare and the basic educational and methodological organization for training military personnel in the field of electronic warfare, and others.

The Council of Ministers of Defense is a consultative and executive body of the Organization for coordinating the interaction of member states in the areas of military policy, military construction and military technical cooperation. 

Created in 1992, the Collective Security Treaty Organization is a Russia-led military alliance grouping the six former Soviet republics of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan.