DUSHANBE, May 21, Asia-Plus -- The Government of Tajikistan is taking sure steps towards accession to the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), Dilrabo Mirsaidova, chairperson of the youth, sports and tourism department of President’s Executive Office, said in an interview with Asia-Plus.   

According to her, accession to UNWTO is one the main points of Tajikistan’s national tourism development strategy for 2004-2009.  “At present we are in correspondence with the UNWTO Secretary General Francesco Frangialli and we have received invitation from him to attend a session of the UNWTO Executive Board that will be held in Tunisia this year and the UNWTO General Assembly’s session that will be held in October,” said Mirsaidova, “These events will consider issues related to the accession of Tajikistan to the Organization.”  

            Accession to the UNWTO will give Tajikistan an opportunity to promote its national tourist product, its resources and infrastructure.  “It is also technical and consultative assistance, attraction of international specialists, use of experience of other countries in development of tourism,” she said, adding that the government earmarked 174,000 somonis for the country’s joining the Organization. 

According to her, this sum includes membership fee, registration, etc.   

The United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), headquartered in Madrid, is a United Nations agency dealing with questions relating to tourism.  It compiles the World Tourism Rankings.  Established in 1975, the World Tourism Organization is undoubtedly the most significant global body concerned with the collection and collation of statistical information on international tourism.  This organization represents public sector tourism bodies from most countries in the world and the publication of its data makes possible comparisons of the flow and growth of tourism on a global scale.

The UNWTO members include 153 countries, seven territories and more than 300 Affiliate Members representing the private sector, educational institutions, tourism associations and local tourism authorities.