DUSHANBE, March 10, Asia-Plus - This year, a number of recipients for the Abulqosim Lohuti Award presented by the Tajik Journalists’ Union for significant contributions in the area of literature and journalism will have been reduced from eleven to three, Asia-Plus has learned from Vahob Latif, deputy head of the Tajik Journalists’ Union.  

According to him, member of the committee for presentation of the Abulqosim Lohuti Award last year expressed dissatisfaction with a large number (eleven persons) of recipients for the award, “noting that this deflates prestige and authority of the award.”  

“To date, 16 persons have been nominated for the Abulqosim Award, and the committee has to select three best journalists as recipients for the award,” Mr. Latif said.  

The Asia-Plus interlocutor noted that Professor Karim Abdulov was chairman of the committee for the Abulqosim Lohuti Award.