By president’s decree the Security Council Secretary has been replaced.

Mahmadali Vatanzoda, who had previously served as President’s Adviser for Legal Issues and President’s Plenipotentiary Representative to the Parliament, was appointed the Security Council Secretary, replacing Abdurahim Qahhorov, who was retired for age reasons.

Colonel-General Abdurahim Qahhorov had served as the Security Council Secretary since January 5, 2012.

The Security Council, which had previously been an independent government boy, is now subordinate President’s Executive Office.    

On June 13, 2018, Tajikistan’s lower house (Majlisi Namoyandagon) of parliament (Majlisi Oli) endorsed amendments proposed by the government to the country’s law on security.  Under these amendments, the Security Council is now subordinate to President’s Executive Office.  

The Security Council of the Republic of Tajikistan is a consultative body of Tajik Resident that works out the President's decisions on national security affairs.  Composed of key ministers and agency heads and chaired by the President of Tajikistan, the Security Council was established to be a forum for coordinating and integrating national security policy.