Journalist of Asia-Plus Media Group Mehrofarin Najibi has been awarded the prize for journalistic professionalism established by the Media Alliance of Tajikistan.

An awarding ceremony for winners of the Media Alliance contest took place at Hilton Dushanbe Hotel yesterday on the margins of the event dedicated to the World Press Freedom Day.

The contest was held in several nominations and Mehrofarin Najibi won the “Kasbiyati Zhurnalisti” (journalistic Professionalism) nomination and was awarded the prize named after Otakhon Latifi.

Journalist for Vechorka weekly Mizhgona Halimova was the second in the nomination and journalist for online news agency Nodira Sobirzoda took the third place in the “Kasbiyati Zhurnalisti” nomination.  

The main award of this even – “Etimod” (Confidence), the prize established by the Media Council of Tajikistan – was won by journalist of the state-run Tojikiston Radio Saidehson Soliyev (Jaloliyon).  

Three journalists competed for this award: Saidehson Soliyev, Fathiddin Zama; and Jahongishoh Rustamshoh. 

In the “Jasorati Zhurnalisti” (Journalistic Courage) nomination, the prize named after Mazhabsho Muhabbatshoyev was awarded to Ardasher Payvand, a journalist for website, for the second place in this nomination.  Ismatullo Abdulloyev, a journalist for Farazh weekly, took the third place in the “Jasorati Zhurnalisti” nomination.   

The first place in this nomination was not awarded to anyone.  

In the “Tadqiqoti Zhurnalisti” (Investigative Journalism) nomination, the prize named after Jouma Tolib was awarded to Mullorajab Yusufi, a journalist for Radio Ozodi

Rukhshona Hakimova, a journalist from Dushanbe, was the second in this nomination and Jahongir Mirsalimov, a journalist for Sughd province, took the third place in the “Tadqiqoti Zhurnalisti” nomination.  

Besides, awards of the Markazi Tadqiqoti Zhurnalisti (Investigative Journalism Center) were given on the sidelines of the event.