Ms. Tanzila Narbayeva, formerly Deputy Prime Minister of Uzbekistan, was elected to head Uzbekistan’s upper chamber (Senate) of parliament (Oliy Majlis) at the 20th plenary session of the Senate that took place in Tashkent on June 20, according to

She reportedly replaced Nigmatulla Yuldashev in this position, who was appointed Prosecutor-General of Uzbekistan.  

Besides, Ms. Elmira Basitkhanova was approved as the Chairperson of the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan, the post, which had previously been held by Tanzila Narbayeva. 

The Senate is the upper chamber of the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan.  The Senate has 100 members, 84 elected from the regions, from the Autonomous Republic of Karakalpakstan and from the capital, Tashkent, and an additional 16 nominated by the President of Uzbekistan.

Senators are elected indirectly by an electoral college comprising members of local councils, with the country's 14 regions consisting of 12 provinces plus the capital of Tashkent and the Autonomous Republic of Karakalpakstan each electing senators to fill 6 seats.  Senators serve 5 year terms.