Azerbaijan, Turkiye and Uzbekistan have signed a Tashkent Declaration, which is expected to contribute to further expansion of relations between the three countries.

Media reports say the declaration was signed yesterday following the first trilateral meeting of ministers of foreign affairs, trade and transport of Azerbaijan, Turkiye and Uzbekistan that took place in Uzbekistan’s capital, Tashkent. 

During the meeting, the parties reportedly discussed issues related to expanding cooperation between the three countries. 

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu twitted that the Tashkent Declaration “will increase the welfare of the Turkic world and strengthen our relations.”  “We will make this mechanism permanent and realize concrete projects,” Turkish foreign minister said on Twitter.  

Azerbaijan, Turkiye and Uzbekistan are member nations of the Organization of Turkic States, whose overarching aim is in promoting comprehensive cooperation among Turkic-speaking nations.  The combined population of the three countries exceeds 130 million people.