DUSHANBE, January 31, 2012, Asia-Plus – A plenum of the Political Council of the National Social-Democratic Party of Tajikistan (NSDP), presided over by the party leader, Rahmatillo Zoirov, took place in Dushanbe on January 28.

The plenum reportedly considered 10 issues, including report by the NSDP Political Council’s board on implementation of decisions made at the previous plenum, regulations on the plenum of the NSDP Political Council, on the board of the NSDP Political Council, on the secretary-general and secretariat of the NSDP Political Council and co-chairpersons and the NSDP Executive Committee.

Besides, the secretariat of the Political Council was formed.  Shodavlat Shonusayriyev was elected the Political Council secretary for general and personnel policy, Dilbar Rasoulova was elected the Political Council secretary for gender and youth policy, and Mavzouna Karimova was elected the Political Council secretary for socioeconomic and regional policy.

Shuhrat Qudratov was elected to head the NSDP Executive Committee and Parvina Jourayeva was elected the NSDP Plenum secretary.

We will recall that the 12th congress of the Social-Democratic Party of Tajikistan (SDPT) that took place in Dushanbe on December 4 made a decision to rename the Social-Democratic Party the National Social-Democratic Party (NSDP).

Rahmatillo Zoirov was reelected chairperson of the party.  Dilovarsho Jouryaev was elected the NSDP secretary general and Amniyat Abdulnazarov, Dilshod Samadova and Shuhrat Qudratov were elected co-chairpersons of the party.

Founded in 2002, the Social-Democratic Party was registered on December 20, 2002.  It was originally registered as the Party of Justice and Development in 1999.  Tajikistan''s Ministry of Justice requested the same year that the Supreme Court ban the party''s activities and its registration was canceled.  The party re-emerged and was registered under the name of the Social-Democratic Party in late 2002.  The party was renamed the National Social-Democratic Party on December 4, 2011.

The party reportedly now has 7,700 members.