Yesterday evening, Tajik President Emomali Rahmon and his Kyrgyz counterpart Sadyr Japarov, who is currently in Tajikistan on an official visit, held an informal meeting in Tajik president’s country residence in Varzob. 

The parties, in particular, discussed issues related to development of tourism in their countries, according to Tajik president’s official website.  

Sadyr Japarov arrived in Tajikistan on an official visit yesterday morning.  At the Dushanbe airport, Kyrgyz leader was met by Tajik Prime Minister Qohir Rasoulzoda.  

Sadyr Japarov (born December 6, 1968) is a Kyrgyz politician, who was the acting prime minister of Kyrgyzstan in the interim government following the resignation of Sooronbay Jeenbekov amidst electoral protests.  Japarov also became acting president of Kyrgyzstan after Jeenbekov's resignation, but resigned himself on November 14, 2020.  On January 10, 2021, Japarov was elected as President of Kyrgyzstan.  Japarov has been described as a nationalist and a populist. 

Diplomatic relations between the Republic of Tajikistan and the Kyrgyz Republic were established on January 14, 1993 by signing the Protocol.  The Embassy of the Kyrgyz Republic functions in Dushanbe since March 1997.  The Embassy of the Republic of Tajikistan functions in Bishkek.

For the purpose of efficiently solving priority issues and further deepening of the bilateral cooperation between Tajikistan and Kyrgyz Republic the sustainable institutional foundation was established - Interstate Coordinating Council, The Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Tajikistan and Kyrgyz Republic, two Tajik-Kyrgyz Intergovernmental commissions: for comprehensive review of bilateral issues and on delimitation and demarcation of borders.

Priorities of political contacts of two countries are reviewed in the context of such common goals as strengthening of security and stability in the region, the assistance for further development of the integration process.

In this respect, cooperation within the framework of UN, OSCE, CIS, SCO, CSTO, IFAS, financial institutions and other international and regional organizations where the Republic of Tajikistan and the Kyrgyz Republic take part in, is of great importance.

However, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan have not yet resolved the border delineation problem.  Many border areas in Central Asia have been disputed since the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991.  The situation is particularly complicated near the numerous exclaves in the Ferghana Valley, where the borders of Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Kyrgyzstan meet.

The border of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan has been the scene of unrest repeatedly since the collapse of the former Soviet Union.  The countries share 971 kilometers of border – of which only 504 kilometers has reportedly been properly delineated.

Border talks between Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan began in 2002.  The countries share 976 kilometers of border – of which only 504 kilometers has reportedly been properly delineated, leading to tensions for the past 30 years. 

The latest clash along Tajikistan’s common border with Kyrgyzstan that took place in late April was the bloodiest one in the region over the past 20 years.  The countries have agreed a complete ceasefire after the worst violence in decades along the Tajik-Kyrgyz border that killed 55 people and wounded more than 300 other people.

The clash has reportedly brought mutual hostility from the previous local level to a national scale in both countries.  Thus, in a recent study by the International Republican Institute, Kyrgyz society cited neighboring Tajikistan as the country with which they have the worst relations.