Iran and Tajikistan will soon implement a pact on the cancellation of visa requirements, which was signed during a recent visit of Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi to Tajikistan, Iran Daily reported on January 27.

Iranian Ambassador to Tajikistan Alireza Haqiqian reportedly announced the above at a meeting with Faizullo Barotzoda, the head of Tajikistan-Iran Parliamentary Friendship Group, held in Dushanbe on January 25. 

According to Iran Daily, Iranian diplomat referred to the process of comprehensive development of relations between the two countries and hailed the role of parliamentary cooperation in deepening ties.

The visa waiver agreement is part of a larger package of bilateral treaties which include cooperation in transportation, the establishment of free economic zones, anti-drug trafficking efforts, and crisis management.

Mr. Barotzoda, for his part, reportedly emphasized the readiness of the Tajik Parliament to create a legal platform in order to further expand cooperation.

Recall, the Government of Tajikistan on January 3 issued a decree to approve a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between Tajikistan and Iran on cancellation of visa requirements for holders of passports for international travels. 

The decree, in particular, orders the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and relevant agencies to take necessary measures to ensure implementation of the mentioned MoU. 

Besides, the Foreign Ministry is instructed to notify the Iranian side about the implementation by Tajikistan of internal state procedures necessary for the entry of this MoU into force.

The MoU between the Government of Tajikistan and the Government of the Islamic Republic of Iran on cancellation of visa requirements for holders of passports for international travels for citizens of Tajikistan and Iran was signed in Dushanbe on November 8 last year during Iranian President Seyyed Ebrahim Raisi’s official visit to Dushanbe.

In December, the Iranian Cabinet decided to unilaterally cancel visa requirements for visitors from 33 more countries, including Tajikistan.