Presided over by Head of the Majlisi Milli (Tajikistan’s upper chamber of parliament) Rustam Emomali, a joint meeting of both chambers of parliament took place on December 10.

Parliamentarians considered the issue of confirming president’s edicts concerning the appointment and relieving of the prime minister and other members of the government.

MPs reportedly unanimously voted for approval of the new composition of the government.   

The Majlisi Milli and the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower chamber of parliament) hold joint meetings in the following events:  taking up by the President of office swear an oath, his resignation, and listening to the submission of the President; speeches of the heads of foreign States; the confirmation of edicts of the President concerning military and extraordinary situations; the giving of consent to the use of the Armed Forces of the Republic of Tajikistan beyond the bounds of Tajikistan for carrying out international obligations of Tajikistan; the confirmation of edicts of the President concerning the appointment and relieving of the Prime Minister and other members of the Government; the consideration of the submission of the President on the principal orientations of internal and foreign policy of the Republic; the fixing of the salary of the President; the designation of elections of the President; and the consideration of the issue of inviolability of the President.

In Tajikistan, the president, who is directly elected, is both the head of state and the head of government.  The president appoints the prime minister and all the members of the government, with parliamentary approval. 

Qohir Rasoulzoda has retained its post of Prime Minister.

Davlatali Said has also retained his post of First Deputy Prime Minister. 

Davlatsho Gulahmadzoda has retained his post of Deputy Prime Minister as well

By president’s decree, Usmonali Usmonzoda, who had previously served as Minister of Energy and Water Resource, were appointed Deputy Prime Ministers.

Ms. Matloubkhon Sattoriyon was appointed Deputy Prime Minister, replacing Ms. Shirin Ismatullozoda.     

Sherali Kabirov, formerly Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Tajik Aluminum Company (TALCO), was appointed Minister of Industry and New Technologies.

Daler Jumayev, who had previously served as Director-General of Pamir Energy Company, was appointed Minister of Energy and Water Resources.  

Ms. Shirin Amonzoda, formerly Deputy Chairperson of the Tourism Development Committee under the Government of Tajikistan, was appointed Minister of Labor, Migration and Employment of the Population.  

Muhammadyusuf Imomzoda has retained his post f Minister of Education and Science. 

Zavqi Zavqizoda has also retained his post of Minister of Economic Development and Trade.  

Power-wielding cluster ministers (Defense Minister, Interior Minister, Head of the State Committee for National Security), Foreign Minister, Finance Minister and Head of the State Committee on Investment and State-owned Property Management have also retained their posts  

Sulaimon Ziyozoda, formerly Chairman of Divashtich District in Sughd Province, was appointed Minister of Agriculture, replacing Amonullo Salimzoda, who was appointed Deputy Chairman of Khatlon Province.