The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), a Russia-led military bloc, yesterday announced plans for seven military exercises among its member nations over the course of next year.

Russia’s state-run news agency TASS citing the Secretary-General Imangali Tasmagambetov, reports that the drills will take place in Russia, as well as the Central Asia’s nations of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.

“An extensive program of joint combat training events has been prepared for 2024, and a total of seven exercises are planned,” Tasmagambetov was quoted as saying at a CSTO Parliamentary Assembly (CSTO PA) in Moscow on December 19.

“The relevant events will be held on the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Tajikistan,” he said.

According to the CSTO secretary-general, the exercises will involve the CSTO Collective Rapid Reaction Forces, Collective Rapid Reaction Forces of the Central Asian region, CSTO Peacekeeping Forces, forces and means of logistics, intelligence, and management bodies.

Meanwhile, Mahmadtoir Zokirzoda, Chairman of the Majlisi Namoyandagon (Tajikistan’s lower chamber of parliament), speaking at a meeting of the CSTO in Moscow yesterday, expressed hope that the strategic partnership between the CSTO member nations will continue to develop for the benefit of peace and stability.     

He reportedly called on the CSTO member nations to strengthen security along the southern borders to counter threats. 

According to him, the countries should increase the effectiveness of cooperation in the military sphere, including countering the infiltration of terrorist groups, drug trafficking and transnational organized crime.  

Formed in 2002, the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) is an intergovernmental military alliance in Eurasia consisting of six post-Soviet states: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan.